About Us

Jason Matheny Portrait

Jason Matheny

Founding Director

Jason Matheny is founding director of the Center for Security and Emerging Technology at Georgetown University. Previously he was Assistant Director of National Intelligence, and Director of IARPA, responsible for the development of breakthrough technologies for the U.S. intelligence community. Before IARPA, he worked at Oxford University, the World Bank, the Applied Physics Laboratory, the Center for Biosecurity, and Princeton University, and was the co-founder of two biotechnology companies. He is a member of the National Security Commission on Artificial Intelligence and the National Academies’ Intelligence Community Studies Board; is a recipient of the Intelligence Community’s Award for Individual Achievement in Science and Technology, the National Intelligence Superior Service Medal, and the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers; and was named one of Foreign Policy’s “Top 50 Global Thinkers.” He has served on various White House committees related to artificial intelligence, biosecurity, high-performance computing, and quantum information science. He co-led the National AI R&D Strategic Plan released by the White House in 2016 and was a member of the White House Select Committee on AI, created in 2018. He holds a Ph.D. in applied economics from Johns Hopkins University, an M.P.H. from Johns Hopkins University, an M.B.A. from Duke University and a B.A. from the University of Chicago.

Our Team

Jason Matheny Portrait

Jason Matheny

Founding Director
Zach Arnold Portrait

Zach Arnold

Research Fellow
Tessa Baker Portrait

Tessa Baker

Director of Operations
Jamie Baker Potrait

Jamie Baker

Distinguished Fellow
Ben Buchanan Portrait

Ben Buchanan

Faculty Fellow
Daniel Chou Portrait

Daniel Chou

Data Scientist
Tantum Collins Portrait

Tantum Collins

Research Fellow
Jeff Ding Portrait

Jeff Ding

Research Fellow
Carrick Flynn Portrait

Carrick Flynn

Research Fellow
William Hannas Portrait

William Hannas

Lead Analyst
Roxanne Heston Portrait

Roxanne Heston

Research Analyst
Elsa Kania Portrait

Elsa Kania

Research Fellow
Dewey Murdick Portrait

Dewey Murdick

Director of Data Science
Michael Sulmeyer Portrait

Michael Sulmeyer

Senior Fellow
Helen Toner Portrait

Helen Toner

Director of Strategy
Remco Zwetsloot Portrait

Remco Zwetsloot

Research Fellow